The Best Day of My Life

“And you, being dead in your sins and the uncircumcision of your flesh, has he quickened together with him., having forgiven you all trespasses;

Blotting out the handwriting of ordinances that was against us, which was contrary to us, and took it out of the way, nailing it to his cross;

And having spoiled principalities and powers, he made a show of them openly, triumphing over then in it.”

Read this while getting ready for work, this morning. I read it, than quickly read it again; For some reason my eyes kept catching on the phrase, ‘His cross.’ I read it over several times. I guess I’ve always thought about it as my cross, which Jesus lifted from my shoulders and carried for me. But it was His. It always belonged to Him. That is how completely Christ gave Himself up for me.

The day that I first understood that, was the day that my whole life was changed. And it was nice to be reminded.

I almost hadn’t picked up my bible after reading some in Nehemiah and Psalms. But the house grew more quiet and more empty as people left for work. So I stood up, flipped open my bible, and the words of Paul began to run through my mouth. I read the whole book aloud before I heard a car door shut in the driveway, and then I stopped.

To this day I’ve never regretted a moment in His word.

Leave a Reply

